• 4255244460 5d63f99de5 B


Glasgow City Region is Scotland's only metropolitan area and covers a third of Scotland’s population and generates a third of its economic wealth. The area has a long and distinguished history of joint working on strategic planning dating back over 70 years. Predecessor organisations include Strathclyde Regional Council and the Glasgow and the Clyde Valley Structure Plan Joint Committee.

In 2008 Scottish Ministers established Strategic Development Planning Authorities for each of the four Scottish city regions. This established Clydeplan which is a Local Government Joint Committee comprising of the eight local authorities of East Dunbartonshire, East Renfrewshire, Glasgow City, Inverclyde, North Lanarkshire, Renfrewshire, South Lanarkshire and West Dunbartonshire Councils working together on strategic development planning matters as required in the Planning etc. (Scotland) Act 2006.

The principal role of Clydeplan is to prepare and maintain an up to date Strategic Development Plan (SDP) for the Glasgow city region. This process involves engagement through joint working and consultation with a number of key stakeholder organisations and the wider community. To support this process a Management Team comprising senior planning officers from the eight local authorities and a dedicated Core Team have been established.

Following the enactment, in July 2019, of the Planning (Scotland) Act  by the Scottish Parliament Clydeplan's statutory duty to prepare a Strategic Development Plan has been replaced with duty to prepare a Regional Spatial Strategy. This duty will formally come in force following the approval of National Planning Framework 4 in late 2022. 

Unlike the Strategic Development Plan, the Regional Spatial Strategy. will not form part of the statutory Development Plan system, this will now comprise the National Planning Framework and the Local Development Plan.

The SDP boundary comprises the administrative boundaries of these 8 local authorities except that part of West Dunbartonshire covered by the Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park Authority.  

Designed and built by Mucky Puddle